3 Reasons to Unplug Regularly

A couple weeks ago, I did something that I was terrified to try (okay, maybe not terrified. but. 😉 ).  My dad challenged me to go a day without my phone, and, being my competitive self, I told him I could go a week without it. So, it was on. Every day, I left my phone off until 7 or 8 every evening. And y’know what? That week was one of the best weeks I’ve had all year!

I’m doing the same little challenge with myself this week, and I wanted to share with you just why unplugging is so important and refreshing. Seriously. You need to try it.

Let’s jump in!

things to avoid (5).png

1) Unplugging boosts productivity 

Hi, I’m Captain Obvious. 😉

For real though, I didn’t realize how many times I pick up my phone and scroll or answer messages until I turned it off every day.

Because I wasn’t distracted by my phone, I was able to get a lot done that’s been on my to-do list for weeks! I found myself taking advantage of 5 or 10 minute breaks here and there to get small tasks done. Those minutes add up!

I was also way more alert and happy every day because I did things that required more brain power than double-tapping an Instagram photo. I had to get creative when I had time to relax, and that made things fun!

2) Unplugging removes distractions from your quiet time 

Even if you don’t stay off your phone for hours at a time, at least keep it in another room during your quiet time. I can’t tell you how much more I enjoyed my morning devotions with my phone off. ❤

It was so peaceful. Just me and Jesus. I could think more clearly and I felt completely connected to God. My time with Him was so fulfilling that I didn’t even care about my phone by the time I finished my devotions.

If you’re struggling to enjoy being in God’s presence…if being still is hard…maybe your phone is a small factor. Try turning it off for a bit and just talk to Him. Open His Word and let Him speak to you in those quiet, notification-free moments. You won’t regret it. ❤

3) Unplugging helps you give undivided attention to everyone around you

Jim Elliot once said, “Wherever you are, be all there.” 

Wow. That quote is a constant conviction to me, and now I understand why he said it (And he didn’t even have cellphones in his day!). God created us with the need for interaction. He  created us to love and be loved. To invest in one another. And it’s so much easier to do that when we remove the screen-barriers.

I had such a blast with the people I see on a regular basis. My parents, my piano students, my church family, friends, little ones…

I wasn’t worried about my long-distance friends. I got to focus on the people right in front of me. And the more I spent time interacting with and loving on them, the more excited I got to talk to them again. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so overwhelmed with love for other people like I did that week. And I’m not saying it was all because I unplugged; God has been working on my heart for a long time, too. But I wasn’t able to see just how much He’d worked until I had the chance to practice what I learned. Putting my phone down and focusing on Him made all the difference, and I was able to enjoy other relationships more as a result. It’s kinda hard to explain, but it was a really special experience. 🙂

unnamed.jpg

So, there ya go! Wanna try it with me?

You might be surprised at how much a little break helps you–even if it’s just for a few hours! Just put the phone down and enjoy the small moments of every day life. Be intentional. Make phone breaks a habit so you don’t miss out on the incredible beauty surrounding you. ❤

6 thoughts on “3 Reasons to Unplug Regularly

  1. YES!! YES!! YES!! It is so amazing that when we put down our phones how much we really do and see. I have been trying to do this more and find the right balance between being on my phone and putting my phone up. Which would explain why I am just reading this blog 😊 SO ENCOURAGING!! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Thank you.
    Very needed.
    It’s funny how I thought i was reading about you…then the Lord turned a “mirror” toward me.
    Today will be much better because of this post.
    You explained it very well.
    You have a smart dad.
    You made a good decision.
    My turn.
    ♡♡♡

    Like

Leave a comment: