For the Girl Who’s Worried About the Future

To the girl worried about the future…anxious because you don’t have everything planned out….feeling less-than because other people have bigger aspirations than you do…pull up a chair. I have some truth to share with you. 🙂
to the girl who's anxious about the future (1).png

When everyone else has the future figured out, but you don’t…

If you’re in high school or college, you’re probably really familiar with questions about your future. People ask you where you’re going to college, what you’ll major in, what you’ll do with your degree, bla bla bla.

I love making plans and having answers to all the questions people ask. But I haven’t always known what I want to do. Haven’t always understood God’s calling on my life. And guess what? I still can’t see the big picture. I have ideas and goals, but I have no idea how He’ll coordinate all my gifts and desires. And that’s totally okay. 

Today an old friend and I caught up over coffee and talked about our plans after college. I want to open a private piano studio and teach kids from the projects in New York and invest in music ministry. My friend is going to college for acting and has no idea what she wants to do with her degree. But y’know why I love that? She’s completely okay with not knowing what her future holds. She knows God will show her where to go when the time comes. But for now, she’s following her God-given passion and trusting Him with everything else.

My friend and I may be in slightly different places of the planning process, but we have one thing in common: God has us exactly where we’re supposed to be. When we keep our eyes on Him, we don’t have to worry about the future. I mean let’s be real, we can’t control it anyway!

Whether we hold a rough sketch of the future or just a blank sketchbook, God has us exactly where we’re supposed to be.

If you have no idea where God wants you in the future, that’s okay! Focus on right now. Trust in God’s sovereignty. He didn’t create us to understand everything. He created us to trust Him because we don’t understand everything.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34, NIV).

eduard-militaru-133851-unsplash.jpg
When you know what you want to do, but everyone else is better at it…

I’m majoring in Piano Pedagogy this Fall, and I knew this major would have challenges when I chose it. Challenges other than 12-18 required practice hours per week. I knew I’d run into some crazy-talented pianists. Knew I’d doubt my abilities or my purpose as a musician from time to time. But I had no idea those little insecurities would creep in so soon.

An old peer of mine recently became a semi-finalist in a competition to become a symphony accompanist. One of my friends plays for orchestras and a future classmate plans to get her doctorate so she can teach college piano.

And sometimes I feel like an underachiever. My plans aren’t as impressive as hers. I’m not as skilled as she is. I don’t practice 6 hours every day like he did. Should I even pursue a music degree

In the words of a sweet friend of mine, “YES. YOU SHOULD.” 

God is graciously teaching me that I don’t have to have the same puzzle pieces as my peers. He has a box of pieces just for me, and I can delight in His plan.

Friend, if insecurity is holding you back from doing what you love, it’s time to change your mindset. Don’t let comparison rob you of your vision. Don’t let doubt deafen you to your calling.

You’re every bit as special and full of potential as the next person because God gave you your dream for a reason. He gave you the exact skills you need to accomplish His plans for you. 

So, whether you have a sketch of your future or blank pages in your hands, delight. Just be. Pursue Jesus and trust Him with your future. He’ll do incredible things. ❤

“Trust in and rely confidently on the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know and acknowledge and recognize Him, and He will make your paths straight and smooth [removing obstacles that block your way]” (Proverbs 3:5-6, AMP).

Life is so much better when we trust and obey. 

8 thoughts on “For the Girl Who’s Worried About the Future

  1. Loving this as I start my grad program this week. I keep thinking… should I be doing this?! And I felt some affirmation from your post “YES YOU SHOULD.” Keep up the great work.

    Like

  2. This is so relatable! I’ve been struggling with this mindset for awhile now and I’m working on shifting my perspective back & getting out of my own way of pursuing my goals. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  3. I graduated college in December with a BA in Political Science. I majored in Political Science because I loved the courses and field, but had no idea what I would do with the degree. It was something that I was good at and enjoyed. Now, I am unemployed and have no clue what my future holds. I feel so worthless, inadequate, and unqualified more times than not. I constantly have to remind myself that God knows what my life looks like, even if I’m not sure where I am headed. I definitely get caught in the game of comparison, which leads to the feelings of inadequacy. Your post is quite timely, as this is my greatest concern right now. Thank you for your post!

    Like

    1. Wow girl, thank you for sharing your heart here. ♥️ I’m sorry it’s been such a struggle finding work and navigating those doubts. I’m so glad you pursued what you loved, though, and I know God will lead you exactly where He wants you! I struggle with comparison too, but we have to look straight ahead and trust God. ♥️ Praying for you, friend!

      Like

  4. You make a good counselor…operating under the Counselor…

    You’ve encouraged me yet again.

    I was having conserns over the future. I know better, but reminders help !
    Thank you for reminding me, and for the Scriptures.
    Awesome ! ! !
    ♡♡♡

    Like

Leave a comment: